Uzbekistani So’m

Oʻzbek soʻmi / Ўзбек сўми

The so’m is the currency of Uzbekistan since 1994.


In the Soviet Union, speakers of Kazakh, Kyrgyz and Uzbek called the ruble the som, and this name appeared written on the back of banknotes, among the texts for the value of the bill in all 15 official languages of the Union. The word som (sometimes transliterated “sum” or “soum”) means “pure” in Kyrgyz, Uyghur and Uzbek, as well as in many other Turkic languages. The word implies “pure gold”.


Unlike the previous transitional currency, this soʻm is subdivided into 100 tiyin.


Uzbekistan continued using the Soviet/Russian ruble after independence. While Russia introduced a new series of Russian ruble on 26 July 1993, Uzbekistan used both old and new rubles. A new transitional currency was introduced on 15 November 1993, which replaced the ruble at par. On 1 July 1994, a second so’m was introduced at a rate of 1 new so’m = 1000 old so’m.


Three series of coins have been issued for the second so’m.

The first series consisted of 1, 3, 5, 10, 20, 50 tiyin and 1, 5, 10 so’m. This series was written in Cyrillic Uzbek script. Date of minting of the tiyin coins are are 1994, while the so’m coins have either 1997, 1998 or 1999. The 10 so’m coins also have 2000 as date of minting. The obverse consisted of coat of arms with 12 stars, while the reverse showed the value of the coin.

A second series was introduced, issued in Latin Uzbek script, starting with a 25 so’m coin in 1999. followed by 1 so’m (2000), 5, 10 and 50 so’m (all in 2001), 50 so’m (2002) and 100 so’m (2004). Unlike the previous series, these coins didn’t have stars on the obverse, while the reverse has the map of Uzbekistan.

A new series will be introduced with coins valued 50, 100, 200 and 500 so’m. This series will replace all previously issued banknotes and coins of those dominations by July 2020.


A new serie of banknotes are issued by the Central Bank of Uzbekistan for the second so’m, starting with denominations of 1, 3, 5, 10, 25, 50 and 100 so’m in 1994. Continued with 200 so’m (1997), 500 so’m (1999), 1 000 so’m (2001), 5 000 so’m (2013), 10 000 and 50 000 so’m (both in 2017) and 100 000 so’m (2019) banknotes. The latter four denominations feature inscriptions in Latin Uzbek script, while the banknotes up to 1 000 so’m feature Cyrillic Uzbek script.

Go top